2019 Irish Review

The old is gone; the new has begun

Construction for    the final phase of our campus  redevelopment is now underway. The structural steel frame that supports the iconic heritage wall is now in place. Lannon, McCormack, Mackin and Nichol Halls came down and we are now establishing the foundation for what is to become our new Elementary School. We eagerly await the completion of this project in the summer of 2020.

Read more 

31st Annual VC vs. Saints Boat Race   (April 13, 2019 at John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse)

12th Annual Alumni Hockey Tournament   (May 4, 2019 at UBC)

5th Annual Devenport Cup Soccer Match, 35th Annual Jim Canil Alumni Football Game, and Alumni Beer Garden  (May 11, 2019 at VC Mayfair)

Alumni Basketball Game    (June 1, 2019 at VC)

12th Alumni Fishing Derby    (June 8, 2019 at Salmon Lake)

Download our "VCAlumni" free mobile  app  now  and have  all the upcoming  alumni events  at your fingertips!

Vancouver College, rich in its history, opens    doors to opportunities beyond one's imagination.

Rob Weitemeyer (VC’00), a Varsity Football Player  and    Rower, is an Olympian and a practising physician. A Vancouver native, Rob has traveled all over the world in pursuit of his academic and athletic careers.

Rob left behind VC a legacy of faith and character. He supports the VC Alumni Corridor because his father, Rudy Weitemeyer (VC’62), gave to the Blessed Edmund Rice Hall when Rob was still a student at VC. He wants to give back, just like his father did, because Vancouver College led him to a world of opportunities.

The Alumni Corridor Project is for every VC graduate. You, as an alumnus, are part of the foundation of Vancouver College. Please consider this special opportunity to memorialize  your journey as a VC student,  commemorate    the rich tradition of our faith and learning community, and forge a new path for the future of VC.

Learn more about Dr. Rob Weitemeyer 

The Class of 1994    will celebrate their 25th Reunion on Sep 28 (Homecoming) at Vancouver College.

For any inquiries regarding reunion planning, please contact   vcalumni@mail.vc.bc.ca

Sagar Malhi (VC'10)

Sagar is an innovator, an educator, and an entrepreneur. He is the co-founder of Switchboard, a modern technology solution for trucking operations. 

"I was blessed to be surrounded with teachers and coaches who cared about the individual as a whole. I learnt the most from my fifth grade teacher, Brother Conti, and some of the lessons he taught are still relevant  today. We had the opportunity to learn life fundamentals, and he gave us responsibility in ways that many of the children never had before. As an adult, I still hold his lessons of patience and trust dear to my heart."

Read more 



Brian PT Yang (VC' 96) 

Brian Yang, an urologist and a father of three, shares his VC story and how he became the empathetic man of character he is today.

"VC is more than just a place to learn.  It’s a community strongly rooted in faith, values, and principles.  VC teaches boys to be men.  The VC brotherhood truly has been, and still is, a huge part of my life. " 

Learn more about Brian 



John Beaton  and Mr. G - BC Football Hall of Famers 

Vancouver College is honoured to announce that John Beaton (VC’67) and  Mr. G were inducted into the 2018 BC Football Hall of Fame.

John, who won the Best Back Award on the 1966 Varsity Football Team, was drafted by the BC Lions    and later played defensive back for 8 seasons in the CFL.

Mr. G, who served at VC for 41 years as a teacher, played on the 1968 Notre Dame Juggler Team when he was in high school. The Jugglers had an undefeated    9-0 season where they  scored  276 points   while allowing just 13.

Many congratulations, John and Mr. G, on your accolade!

Hall of Honour

The 2018 Hall of Honour Induction Ceremony and Reception took place on Tuesday, November 27 in Manrell Hall. Vancouver College, along with the VC Alumni Association, are beyond humbled to officially induct 5 alumni into the VC Hall of Honour- Cornelius Burke (VC'34), Kevin Eiben (VC'97), John Mills (VC'68), Bob Stewart (VC'73), and Harry White (VC'63). The speeches from the Burke family, Kevin Eiben, John Mills, Bob Stewart, and Bill Stewart representing the '63 class on behalf of Harry White, were extraordinary. Classes from different decades joined  us on this special night,  exemplifying the  camaraderie of the VC alumni community.

Read More



The 45th Annual Alumni Golf Tournament

The 45th Annual Vancouver College Golf Tournament, presented by Wilson Beck Insurance Group, had a great turnout this year! The Irish eyes were smiling on us as the sky opened up and the rain subsided for a great round of golf on one of BC’s top courses - Marine Drive Golf Club. The winning foursomes were captioned by Brad Newman-Bennett (VC’89) and Pat Whalen (VC’90) both tied for first place with -16. Well done, gentlemen!

Read More



Celebrating Christmas VC Style

We are pleased to share that the 2nd Annual Vancouver College Irish Christmas Luncheon, presented by Choom at the Terminal City Club, was a success! Our keynote speaker, Dr. Keiron McConnell (VC'86), delivered a powerful message on his experiences working with gang suppression units and left the audience in awe.

We are  privileged to announce that the VCAA presented a gift of $40,000 to the school's Bursary Fund through the proceeds raised at the Golf Tournament.   Thank you to those who sponsored at the 2018 Golf Tournament for your gift of education. Your generous support will significantly impact our boys now and those in generations to come. 

The generosity  did not stop there . With 27 supporters, we raised $77,500 for the Alumni Corridor Paver Project,    which is a testament to the incredible connection many continue to have with VC.

Read More



Victoria Alumni Pub Night

The Victoria Alumni Pub Night took place on the evening of January 24th at the Irish Times Pub, a local pub owned by our very own VC graduate, Matt MacNeil (VC'78). Alumni from different grad years connected with each other and shared memories of their time at VC. From left to right: Mickey Sanders (VC'57), Neil Sweeney (VC'86), Derek Levelt (VC'86), Stuart Newton (VC'82), and David Begg (VC'60), missing Mark Mawhinney (VC'90) and John Reid (VC'88).



The Blessing and Groundbreaking Ceremony for the New Elementary School

As construction is set to begin on Vancouver College’s new Elementary School, the community gathered on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 for a blessing and groundbreaking ceremony. The blessing was bestowed by Vancouver College’s Chaplain, Father Juan Lucca, and was  attended by Elementary School students, Christian Brothers, members of the Board, Administrative teams, and the Our Next Century Campaign cabinet. 

Since the last edition of the Irish Review (Aug 30th, 2018) we have learned of the passing of the following Vancouver College alumni:

John Chutter    (VC'37) -  Sep 13, 2018.

Wilbur (Webo) Clarke   (VC'47) - Jan 4, 2019.

Charles Clarke    (VC'50) - Jan 6, 2019.

Ian Donald    (VC'62) - Feb 15, 2019.

Michael Horrocks    (VC'62) -  Oct 10, 2018.

Stephen O'Neill    (VC'75) - Aug 31, 2018.

Adrian Pavel    (VC'17) - Sep 20, 2018.

We thank God for the gift of their lives. Our thoughts and prayers are with their families.



Want to stay connected ? Update your contact information on Net Directories or email us at vcalumni@mail.vc.bc.ca