Hall of Honour

The 2018 Hall of Honour Induction Ceremony and Reception took place on Tuesday, November 27 in Manrell Hall. Vancouver College, along with the VC Alumni Association, are beyond humbled to officially induct 5 alumni into the VC Hall of Honour- Cornelius Burke (VC'34), Kevin Eiben (VC'97), John Mills (VC'68), Bob Stewart (VC'73), and Harry White (VC'63). The speeches from the Burke family, Kevin Eiben, John Mills, Bob Stewart, and Bill Stewart representing the '63 class on behalf of Harry White, were extraordinary. Classes from different decades joined us on this special night, exemplifying the camaraderie of the VC alumni community.

Special thank you to our emcee Jim Rogers, the backbone of this event Bruce Jagger, the Hall of Honour Selection Committee, and all of our volunteers.

Congratulations to our 2018 Hall of Honour Inductees:

Cornelius Burke (VC'34)

Cornelius was a hero of the Second World War where he served with the Canadian Navy. During the war he became only one of five Canadians to be awarded the Distinguished Service Cross on three separate occasions (the DSC with two bars) while commanding motor gunboats in the Adriatic Sea. He left the service at the end of the war with the rank of Acting Lieutenant Commander. Upon returning to Canada he was a founding partner in a prominent local tug boat company and later built and operated a successful travel agency.

Kevin Eiben (VC'97)

Kevin was an outstanding all around athlete at VC; lettering in, and receiving All-League honours in both Basketball and Football. He was voted MVP in the 1996 Provincial Football Championship game. Kevin received a scholarship to attend Bucknell University where he played both football and baseball for the Bison. He was named Athlete of the Year in his senior year after being awarded All-American athletic honours, scholar-athlete honours and Football MVP. Furthering his football career, Kevin was selected as the 26th pick in the 2001 CFL draft and played 12 seasons. He was a three time CFL All Star, Eastern Conference All Star five times, and 2004 Grey Cup Champion. He was inducted as a member of the Bucknell University Hall of Fame in 2012 and recently finished his second season as the Special Teams Coordinator for the Toronto Argonauts winning the 2017 Grey Cup with his team.

John Mills (VC'68)

John was an excellent athlete at VC and at UBC where he was a member of both the 1970 and 1972 Canadian Championship Thunderbird Basketball teams. His career had a sport theme and included the following positions, Executive Director of Basketball BC, President of Sport BC, President & CEO of the Calgary Olympic Development Association, BC Assistant Deputy Minister of Sport and currently COO of the Richmond Olympic Oval. Highlights were the creation of The KidSport Fund and his work on the bid, operation and legacy of the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. For the past ten years he has co-chaired the board of Canada Basketball.

Bob Stewart (VC'73)

Bob comes from a long line of police officers. He retired from the Vancouver Police Department at the rank of Inspector after 37+ years of service. He was awarded the Order of Merit of the Police Forces by the Governor General for his outstanding service and was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for career accomplishments and community service. As Team Leader of VPD’s Emergency Response Team he developed the team to full-time status and subsequently received the NTOA Award of Excellence. He brought the intelligence-led COMPSTAT policing model to the VPD and created the Chronic Offender Program. He played a key role in negotiating a partnership between the VPD, RCMP and the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) that saw the enhancement of Operation SECURUS. He created a Province-wide program to facilitate real-time sharing of gang-related criminal intelligence amongst Federal, Provincial and Municipal policing. Bob served 27 years as a Director on the Board of the Vancouver Police Credit Union spending the last 10 years of his tenure as President.

Harry White (VC'63)

Harry was an outstanding golfer for most of his life but perhaps his biggest accomplishment in the sport was his work in the encouragement and development of junior golfers. He was one of the founders of the Boys’ Junior Americas Cup, which is widely regarded as one of the top junior events in Western North America. Recognizing a gap in the development system of young golfers he founded the Junior Linkster Tour, which used executive length courses to introduce competition to younger children. Harry worked to ensure successful participation for his young players in many tournaments including the Junior Americas Cup, Optimist Jr. World Golf, Zone Jr. Tour, Jr. Linksters and Little Masters Tour. He was a lifelong member of Marine Drive Golf Club, a member of the 1969 and 1972 Willingdon Cup golf teams, played and won multiple golf tournaments and was a founding member of the BC Golf House Society.